Your Councillors

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. For more details on Members Allowances and Expenses, please see here.

By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

All councillors follow a code of conduct and must declare any financial interests or gifts. Details of the Member’s Code of Conduct, and the Local Code of Conduct Complaints Process can be found here.

Councillors Privacy Notice - Elected members are data controllers in their own right and must ensure that any personal information they hold/use in their office as an elected member is treated in line with GDPR and the Data Protection Act 2018. More information can be found here.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

Councillor
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Graham Allen

Councillor Graham Allen

62 The Ridings, Burgess Hill, West Sussex, RH15 0PL

Home: 01444 247 316

Work: graham.allen@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Burgess Hill - Franklands
photo of Councillor Jonathan Ash-Edwards

Councillor Jonathan Ash-Edwards

Leader

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home: 01444 413 902

Work: jonathan.ash-edwards@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Lindfield
photo of Councillor Richard Bates

Councillor Richard Bates

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home: 01444 452 092

Work: richard.bates@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Haywards Heath - Ashenground
photo of Councillor John Belsey

Councillor John Belsey

Cabinet Member for Environment & Service Delivery

Gotwick Farm, Holtye Road, East Grinstead, RH19 3PP

Home mobile: 07721 303 466

Work: john.belsey@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Ashurst Wood
photo of Councillor Margaret Belsey

Councillor Margaret Belsey

Gotwick Farm, Holtye Road, East Grinstead, RH19 3PP

Home: 01342 321 574

Work: margaret.belsey@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative East Grinstead - Ashplats
photo of Councillor Alison Bennett

Councillor Alison Bennett

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home: 01273 835 276

Work: alison.bennett@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Hurstpierpoint & Downs
photo of Councillor Liz Bennett

Councillor Liz Bennett

39 Copse Close, East Grinstead, RH19 3EF

Home: 01342 301 007

Work: liz.bennett@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative East Grinstead - Ashplats
photo of Councillor Anne Boutrup

Councillor Anne Boutrup

50 Sunnywood Drive, Haywards Heath, RH16 4PF

Home mobile: 07912 112 484

Work: anne.boutrup@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Haywards Heath - Ashenground
photo of Councillor Pete Bradbury

Councillor Pete Bradbury

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home mobile: 07770 557 755

Work: pete.bradbury@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Cuckfield
photo of Councillor Paul Brown

Councillor Paul Brown

C/O Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home: 01342 811 866

Work: paul.brown@midsussex.gov.uk

Green Party High Weald
photo of Councillor Heidi Brunsdon

Councillor Heidi Brunsdon

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home mobile: 07889 837 362

Work: heidi.brunsdon@westsussex.gov.uk

Conservative East Grinstead - Imberhorne
photo of Councillor Paul Budgen

Councillor Paul Budgen

Pinewood, Copthorne Bank, Copthorne, West Sussex, RH10 3JQ

Work: paul.budgen@midsussex.gov.uk

Independent Copthorne & Worth
photo of Councillor Roger Cartwright

Councillor Roger Cartwright

Freshfields, Keymer Road, Burgess Hill, West Sussex, RH15 0AH

Home: 01444 230 979

Work: roger.cartwright@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Burgess Hill - St Andrews
photo of Councillor Peter Chapman

Councillor Peter Chapman

92 Manor Road, Burgess Hill, West Sussex, RH15 0NQ

Home mobile: 07779 968 307

Work: peter.chapman@midsussex.gov.uk

Independent Burgess Hill - Victoria
photo of Councillor Rod Clarke

Councillor Rod Clarke

101 Beech Hill, Haywards Heath, RH16 3TS

Home: 01444 413 529

Work: rod.clarke@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Haywards Heath - Franklands
photo of Councillor Emma Coe-Gunnell White

Councillor Emma Coe-Gunnell White

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home mobile: 07984 197 990

Work: emma.coegunnellwhite@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Burgess Hill - Dunstall
photo of Councillor Phillip Coote

Councillor Phillip Coote

San Felipe, Lake View Road, Furnace Wood, Felbridge, East Grinstead, RH19 2QB

Home: 01342 713 443

Work: phillip.coote@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Crawley Down & Turners Hill
photo of Councillor Matthew Cornish

Councillor Matthew Cornish

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home: 01444 232 030

Work: matthew.cornish@midsussex.gov.uk

Green Party Burgess Hill - St Andrews
photo of Councillor Rachel Cromie

Councillor Rachel Cromie

11 Quakers Lane, Haywards Heath, West Sussex, RH16 3QD

Work: rachel.cromie@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Haywards Heath - Bentswood
photo of Councillor John Dabell

Councillor John Dabell

Wits End, 43 Mindelheim Avenue, East Grinstead, RH19 3US

Home: 01342 317 745

Work: john.dabell@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative East Grinstead - Town
photo of Councillor Ruth de Mierre

Councillor Ruth de Mierre

Cabinet Member for Customer Services

36 Gander Hill, Haywards Heath, RH16 1QX

Home: 01444 453 399

Work: ruth.demierre@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Haywards Heath - Lucastes
photo of Councillor Benedict Dempsey

Councillor Benedict Dempsey

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home: 07880 747 575

Liberal Democrats Hassocks
photo of Councillor Robert Eggleston

Councillor Robert Eggleston

Wykeham Cottage, 50 Ferndale Road, Burgess Hill, RH15 0HG

Home: 01444 242 953

Work: robert.eggleston@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Burgess Hill - Meeds
photo of Councillor Sandy Ellis

Councillor Sandy Ellis

60A Queens Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1EE

Work: sandra.ellis@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Haywards Heath - Heath
photo of Councillor Anne Eves

Councillor Anne Eves

104b Mill Road, Burgess Hill, West Sussex, RH15 8BZ

Home: 01444 243 670

Work: anne.eves@midsussex.gov.uk

Green Party Burgess Hill - Leylands
photo of Councillor Lee Gibbs

Councillor Lee Gibbs

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home: 01444 242 180

Work: lee.gibbs@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Burgess Hill - Victoria
photo of Councillor Ian Gibson

Councillor Ian Gibson

Kilnwood, Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down, West Sussex, RH10 4HB

Home: 01342 716 790

Work: ian.gibson@midsussex.gov.uk

Independent Crawley Down & Turners Hill
photo of Councillor Sue Hatton

Councillor Sue Hatton

40 Wilmington Close, Hassocks, West Sussex, BN6 8QB

Home: 01273 843 150

Work: sue.hatton@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Hassocks
photo of Councillor Janice Henwood

Councillor Janice Henwood

Homelands, Oakwood Road, Burgess Hill, West Sussex, RH15 0HZ

Home: 01444 257 408

Work: janice.henwood@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Burgess Hill - Franklands
photo of Councillor Simon Hicks

Councillor Simon Hicks

24 Dumbrills Close, Burgess Hill, West Sussex, RH15 8RR

Home: 01444 245 059

Work: simon.hicks@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Burgess Hill - Leylands
photo of Councillor Stephen Hillier

Councillor Stephen Hillier

Cabinet Member for Economic Growth

38 Bentswood Crescent, Haywards Heath, West Sussex, RH16 3QR

Home mobile: 07830 200 722

Work: stephen.hillier@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Haywards Heath - Bentswood
photo of Councillor Tofojjul Hussain

Councillor Tofojjul Hussain

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home mobile: 07857 079 313

Work: tofojjul.hussain@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Burgess Hill - Meeds
photo of Council Rodney Jackson

Council Rodney Jackson

11 Bishops Close, Hurstpierpoint, Hassocks, BN6 9XU

Home: 01273 834 422

Work: rodney.jackson@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Hurstpierpoint & Downs
photo of Councillor Jim Knight

Councillor Jim Knight

8 Woodbine Close, Cuckfield, RH17 5GL

Home mobile: 07769 704 063

Work: Jim.Knight@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Haywards Heath - Lucastes
photo of Councillor Clive Laband

Councillor Clive Laband

5 Ashurst Place, Heath Road, Haywards Heath, West Sussex, RH16 3EJ

Home mobile: 07966 196 302

Work: clive.laband@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Haywards Heath - Heath
photo of Councillor Andrew Lea

Councillor Andrew Lea

1 The Glebe, Lindfield, Haywards Heath, RH16 2JS

Home: 01444 452 675

Work: andrew.lea@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Lindfield
photo of Councillor Anthea Lea

Councillor Anthea Lea

1 The Glebe, Lindfield, Haywards Heath, RH16 2JS

Home: 01444 452 675

Work: anthea.lea@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Lindfield
photo of Councillor Judy Llewellyn-Burke

Councillor Judy Llewellyn-Burke

Deputy Leader

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home: 01444 461 125

Work: judy.llewellyn-burke@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Bolney
photo of Councillor Andrew MacNaughton

Councillor Andrew MacNaughton

Cabinet Member for Housing and Planning

Lams, 11 Horsham Road, Pease Pottage, Crawley, RH11 9AW

Home: 01293 522 817

Work: andrew.macnaughton@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Ardingly & Balcombe
photo of Councillor Gary Marsh

Councillor Gary Marsh

Druidstone Cottage, Newlands, Balcombe, RH17 6JA

Home: 01444 811 320

Work: gary.marsh@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Ardingly & Balcombe
photo of Councillor Julie Mockford

Councillor Julie Mockford

Twyford, 35 Dorset Avenue, East Grinstead, West Sussex, RH19 2AB

Home: 01342 325 552

Conservative East Grinstead - Baldwins
photo of Councillor Adam Peacock

Councillor Adam Peacock

Barredale Court, Turners Hill Road, East Grinstead, RH19 4LX

Home mobile: 07444 533 028

Work: adam.peacock@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative East Grinstead - Herontye
photo of Councillor Christopher Phillips

Councillor Christopher Phillips

16 Calluna Drive, Copthorne, West Sussex, RH10 3XF

Home: 01342 712 668

Work: christopher.phillips@midsussex.gov.uk

Independent Copthorne & Worth
photo of Councillor Michael Pulfer

Councillor Michael Pulfer

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home mobile: 07734 407 467

Work: michael.pulfer@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Haywards Heath - Franklands
photo of Councillor Robert Salisbury

Councillor Robert Salisbury

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home mobile: 07831 599 960

Work: robert.salisbury@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Cuckfield
photo of Councillor Samantha Smith

Councillor Samantha Smith

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home mobile: 07400 459 410

Work: samantha.smith@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Burgess Hill - Dunstall
photo of Councillor Alexander Sparasci

Councillor Alexander Sparasci

c/o Mid Sussex District Council, Oaklands Road, Haywards Heath, RH16 1SS

Home: 01273 901 729

Work: alexander.sparasci@midsussex.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Hassocks
photo of Councillor Linda Stockwell

Councillor Linda Stockwell

Ibis, Lewes Road, Scaynes Hill, Haywards Heath, West Sussex, RH17 7PG

Home: 01444 831 493

Work: linda.stockwell@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative High Weald
photo of Councillor Dick Sweatman

Councillor Dick Sweatman

81 Estcots Drive, East Grinstead, West Sussex, RH19 3YW

Home: 01342 322 743

Work: Dick.Sweatman@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative East Grinstead - Herontye
photo of Councillor Colin Trumble

Councillor Colin Trumble

14 Cuckfield Road, Hurstpierpoint, Hassocks, West Sussex, BN6 9SA

Home: 01273 832 102

Work: colin.trumble@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Hurstpierpoint & Downs
photo of Councillor Neville Walker

Councillor Neville Walker

10 Clays Close, East Grinstead, West Sussex, RH19 4DJ

Home: 01342 327 330

Work: Neville.Walker@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative East Grinstead - Town
photo of Councillor Roger Webb

Councillor Roger Webb

Withywindle, Kiln Close, Crawley Down, RH10 4JX

Home: 01342 719 029

Work: roger.webb@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative Crawley Down & Turners Hill
photo of Councillor Norman Webster

Councillor Norman Webster

Cabinet Member for Community

7 Newlands Crescent, East Grinstead, West Sussex, RH19 1LF

Home: 01342 317 806

Work: Norman.Webster@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative East Grinstead - Baldwins
photo of Councillor Rex Whittaker

Councillor Rex Whittaker

11 The Stennings, East Grinstead, West Sussex, RH19 1PF

Home: 01342 302 515

Work: rex.whittaker@midsussex.gov.uk

Conservative East Grinstead - Imberhorne