Your Councillors by Party

The Council comprises 48 elected Councillors. The political balance of the Council is: 20 Liberal Democrat, 18 Conservative, 4 Green, 4 Independent, 1 Burgess Hill Independent and 1 Labour. Each councillor represents a specific area and serves for four years

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. For more details on Members Allowances and Expenses, please see here.

By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

All councillors follow a code of conduct and must declare any financial interests or gifts. Details of the Member’s Code of Conduct, and the Local Code of Conduct Complaints Process can be found here.

Councillors Privacy Notice - Elected members are data controllers in their own right and must ensure that any personal information they hold/use in their office as an elected member is treated in line with GDPR and the Data Protection Act 2018. More information can be found here.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

 Liberal Democrats


 Green Party


 Burgess Hill Independent